Official results trickle in from Ondo election

Official results trickle in from Ondo election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Rotimi Akeredolu as the governor-elect in the heated gubernatorial elections in Ondo state as the results trickled into the collation centre.

The Ondo election has been the subject of controversies ranging from Eyitayo Jegede emerging as the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after a Supreme Court judgment ruled against erstwhile factional candidate of same party, Jimoh Ibrahim.

The PDP called for a postponement of the election although this was rejected by INEC.

Check out's live reports, news updates and pictures from the voting which began On Saturday, November 26 and has been concluded in some parts of the state.

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Rotimi Akeredolu took a slight early lead in the unofficial results sent in from correspondents from the situation room in the state.

Read our live coverage below. Remember to always refresh your browser for fresh updates!

01. 10' Prof. Abdul Ganiyu Ambali, INEC's returning officer declared Akeredolu as the winner of the election after satisfying all the requirement and having the highest number of votes.

11.05' APC's Akeredolu has thanked the people of Ondo for voting him as he awaits official confirmation of his victory from INEC.


09.50' Although the official result result of the last local government has not been announced, there is already celebration in the Akeredolu camp as he is poised to emerge governor after winning 14 local governments

09.10' INEC postponed announcement of the remaining one local government till .

The results of 17 local government has been announced as Nigerians await Ilaje local government election result to arrive the INEC office in Alagbaka, Akure.

08.29' Official results from Ese-Odo LGA

Registered Voters: 66,704

Accredited Voters: 25,563

AD- 3,562

APC- 10,700

PDP- 8,701


PDP's Jegede delivered his polling unit while Governor Olusegun Mimko also won his polling unit

08.10' Official results from Akure

Registered  Voter: 261, 281

Accredited  Voters: 69, 916

AD -12, 270

Official results trickle in from Ondo election

L-R: Kazeem K. Babamale, INEC returning office’s Aid, Prof. Abdul Ganiyu Ambali INEC Returning Officer and Olusegun Agbaje INEC host REC during the official announcement of Ondo state Governorship election result at the Independent National Electoral Commission in Ondo state. Photo: Emmanuel Osodi

APC- 25, 797

PDP- 25, 005

08.01' The official results from Odigbo LGA

AD- 8187

PDP- 17581

APC- 8668



Official results trickle in from Ondo election

Prof. Abdul Ganiyu Ambali, INEC Returning Officer

07.58' Official results from Owo LGA

AD- 2469

APC- 32988

PDP- 4241

Results from Okitipupa LGA put the APC ahead

AD- 16294

APC- 14930

PDP- 8031

The APC also wins Akoko South East

AD- 2270

APC- 6384

PDP- 4239

The official results from Akoko south west LGA

AD- 9359

APC- 19892

PDP- 7691

07.55' Official results from Akure North LGA

AD- 4123

PDP- 6498

APC- 10710

Akoko South LGA

AD- 2270

APC- 4239

PDP- 6384

07.50' Official results from Ose LGA

AD- 4272

APC- 13454

PDP- ‎ 6520

Total votes cast- 25034

Rejected votes- 1376

Total- 26410

07.41' Official results from Ondo west LGA

AD-  7154

APC- 10672

PDP-  17382

Total valid votes- 37,054

Rejected votes- 2448

Total votes- 39502

07.32' Official results from Irele LGA

AD- 6710

APC- 11,113

PDP- 5907

07.31' Official results from Ore LGA

AD- 4629

APC- 10958

PDP- 6748

07.30' Official results from Ifedore LGA:

AD- 4629

APC- 10958

PDP- 6747

Total votes- 23347

Rejected votes- ‎1087

Total votes- 24434

07.40' Official results from Akoko North East LGA indicates that the APC won with a landslide

Registered votes- 72911

Accredited votes- 31129

APC - 13645

PDP‎- 6496

Total votes- 29638

Rejected - 1462

Total votes- 31100

07.30' Official results fromIle Olugi Local govt

 Registered voters- 66090

Accredited voters- 26281

AD- 4525

APC- 10681

PDP- 8306

Valid votes- 24545

Rejected votes- 1601

Total votes - 26146

07. 00' The APC trails the PDP in Ondo West according to the official results from INEC

Ondo West:

Total number of registered voters- 45050

Total number of votes cast- 15989

Official results trickle in from Ondo election

AD- 2742

APC- 4253

PDP- 7317

Total valid votes- 15030

Rejected votes- 941

Total votes cast- 15971

Source: Legit

Mailfire view pixel